Makey Makey: Visual Art, Music, & Circuits

Have you heard of Makey Makey?
I got a few kits a bit ago. . .Honestly, I was a bit stumped. I understood it to be a tool with very multifaceted uses, but it took me a bit to get my head around it (if I’m honest, I’m still working on that part).

Anyway.

For my first project, I decided to stick to my wheelhouse: Visual Art. I didn’t really plan this out; I let it happen. Most of my best work occurs when I’m open to whatever direction. The result was a quick marker sketch of Van Gogh’s Starry Night hooked up to the Makey Makey via graphite dots corresponding to the stars in the sky. I found an online keyboard, figured out the corresponding notes on my artwork. . . And, I played Twinkle Twinkle Little Star uses the stars on my Van Gogh inspired artwork.

It has incredible classroom potential – all across the curriculum.
Y’all. It is so much fun, and I can’t wait to keep making with Makey Makey.

Here’s a video: